ThinkPad T430s Rescue and Recovery -- Windows 7 version

Always remember that if your hard drive needs replacement or reimaging for any reason, Rescue and Recovery can only help you restore your system if you have made regular backups to an external device and/or multiple DVDs.

It is recommended that you do R&R using an external hard drive as well as your local hard drive. Keep in mind that the image on your laptop is about 60GB, so you will need a drive with at least that much space.

Creating a backup image on your local T430s hard drive

  • Connect your system to AC power and power on the laptop.
  • From the Start menu, select Lenovo ThinkVantage, and under that, select Rescue and Recovery.
  • Once started, the backup to the local T430s hard drive will take about one and a half hours.
  • When the backup is done, the message “Rescue and Recovery has successfully created a backup of your hard drive” will appear on the screen.  Select OK.

Creating a backup on an external hard drive

  • Connect your external hard drive to your laptop.
  • Open Rescue and Recovery from the Start menu. Click on the arrow next to Change schedule, name a backup, delete backups.
  • When the Backup window appears, select your external hard drive in the “Save backup to”: option field.  Select Back up to start the process.
  • Similar to the backup to your local drive, you will get a message indicating that the backup is being created on your USB hard drive.
  • When the backup is done, the message “Rescue and Recovery has successfully created a backup of your external drive” will appear on the screen.  Select OK.

Restoring your backup

  • Connect your system to AC power and power on the laptop.
  • When the ThinkPad logo appears on the screen, press the F11 key to start Rescue and Recovery.
  • You will now have the option of doing a Quick Restore or a Full Restore. Use the option that best fits your needs.
  • You can do the restore from either your internal or external hard drives
  • After a few minutes, the program will show estimated time to completion.
  • When the process is complete, restart your system.